cyberBob Howe Each month guitar picker and Webmaster Bob Howe brings you the latest Country Music happenings on the Internet.
You can surf your way from month to month, or why not bookmark the main index for the complete contents!
Join our mailing list below for notification of each new column.
Country Music Artists and Entertainers .... click here .... to find out how to get your OWN Web page!

Christmas lights

Cowboys In Cyberspace - December 2002

"Surfin' Santa"

How time flies - it's nearly Christmas again! What will Santa have in store for us this year? Mobile phones now take photos and send them to other phones, and digital cameras can be the size of credit cards! Smaller and faster is the name of the game…where will it all end? If your computer or Home Entertainment System is DVD equipped, look in your stocking for some new home-grown music on DVD: Gunyah ­ I'll Sing You The Outback from JOHN WILLIAMSON, and The Very Best Of SLIM DUSTY - The Video Collection. Full reviews on these titles next month. Meanwhile, while away those holiday hours by surfing to some more new and updated Web sites:

Over at the ALAN JACKSON site the virtual snow is falling and he's wishing us "Yee-Haw…Merry Christmas!" as he releases his new album (and second Yuletide offering) Let It Be Christmas. The seasonal theme decorates his whole site for the time being. No doubt Alan will spend Christmas polishing all his recent CMA Award trophies! Not to be out done, Alan's label mates and CMA Vocal Duo of the Year winners BROOKS & DUNN frolic under the mistletoe with their rousing effort It Won't Be Christmas Without You.

Kids (and big kids) might enjoy a visit to Santa at where you can check your rating on the Santa Claus Naughty or Nice List and learn the Top Ten ways to make the Naughty List or the Nice List. Mrs. Claus's Kitchen includes fun recipes like Tommy The Tomato Nose Reindeer. If you can ignore the advertisements, there are other fun games there too.

DONNA BOYD Back in the land of sunshine (and nothing to do with Christmas) All Roads lead to the DONNA BOYD Website. All Roads is the title of Donna's long-awaited and wonderful new album, produced by Stuart French. At her comprehensive and stylish Web site you can sample her music and hear Donna being interviewed by several Country Music radio presenters. Donna says in her biography "...this dream started a few years ago when I moved to Nashville and fell in love with the music and the people who create it..." and she documents her journey so far. We're glad she is back in Australia now and look forward to watching where the dream takes her next.

BROOKE LEAL is seeing her dreams come true. Recently voted 'Female Rising Star 2002' at the Australian Independent Country Music Awards in Mildura, Brooke has now also collected the inaugural Country Award presented by Newcastle (NSW) ABC Radio 1233. Brooke has her own new Web site for you to visit while over at the ABC Newcastle site you can hear Brooke's winning song plus the winners and the Top Five Finalists in all the categories.


Don't forget to listen out for cyberBob each month on the radio waves with Belinda Miller of Murri Country, 4AAA (98.9 FM in Brisbane) and Barbara Morison on 2SER (107.3 FM in Sydney).

If you want to share the location of an interesting site you've seen or request a topic for discussion in future columns, why not E-mail me.

barbed wire
barbed wire
barbed wire
DVD cover
Warner Vision Australia

On this DVD release, four-time Grammy Award-winner ANNE MURRAY performs 14 songs of inspiration in an intimate setting, taped live at the CBC Studios in Toronto. Drawing on the song-list from her album WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD, Anne is united with the Expression Praise Choir plus Sharon Riley and Faith Chorale, and together they perform some of her favourite songs including Put A Little Love In Your Heart and Put Your Hand In The Hand. Pop sensation Deborah Cox joins her for a duet on I Can See Clearly Now and Anne's daughter Dawn Langstroth (who shares remarkable vocal similarities with her mother) team up to perform their hit duet, Let There Be Love. In a more laidback segment, Anne, Dawn and Deborah sit in a circle with the background singers to sing a medley of Amazing Grace, You've Got A Friend, Lean On Me and Just A Closer Walk With Thee. Overall, this is a varied and inspired selection of songs that also includes Song of Bernadette, written by fellow Canadian, Leonard Cohen.

The DVD also has extra features including an exclusive interview and behind the scenes footage, the original music video of Let There Be Love, a discography, biography and a list of the Awards & Achievements of a career that has spanned over 34 years and over 34 albums. Long may the Snowbird fly.

Warner Vision Australia 0927481952
(55 mins plus extras)



  • Put A Little Love In Your Heart
  • In The Garden
  • Elijah
  • The Other Side
  • I Can See Clearly Now
  • Amazing Grace
  • You've Got A Friend
  • Lean On Me
  • Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • Song Of Bernadette
  • Softly & Tenderly
  • Let There Be Love
  • Put Your Hand In The Hand
  • What A Wonderful World

Until next month, have a wonderful and Merry Christmas, and happy surfing!



Would YOU would like to be added to our FREE mailing list and be automatically notified each time a new Cowboys in Cyberspace article appears on the web?
Just enter your E-mail address (and/or comments) here and click the button once!
(If your browser doesn't support 'forms', E-mail us above)

Back to top of this page


You can use this box to search this site for your favourite Country Music artist...

...or if you want to search the World Wide Web...
...type their name into this search engine box and then press the GOOGLE SEARCH button.....


© 2002 Bob Howe Productions - ShowNet